Welcome to Leicester, VT

A Great Place to Live

PC Meeting Minutes

Town of Leicester

Planning Commission Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 13, 2010




** See subsequent minutes for any changes


Members Present:  Donna Swinington, Chair, Pete Fjeld, Jeff McDonough


Absent:  Tim Johnson, Gerry Flint 


Others Present:  Kate Briggs, ZA, Sandra Trombley, Secretary


Call to Order & Roll Call:  Called the Planning Commission Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chair and roll call. 


Reviewed Agenda.


Approve Minutes of December 16, 2009:


Reviewed minutes of December 16, 2009. 


Motion by Jeff to approve minutes of December 16, 2009 as written.  Second by Pete.  All in favor.  So approved.


Old Business:




Reviewed survey questionnaire related to the Town Plan.  The PC wants to get resident involvement.  Discussion around questions that Linda Brogan had of Kate.


Donna recommended asking the Selectmen for an extension on the Town Plan for another year.


Donna will ask Addison County Regional Planning whether they help with graphs for the Town Plan.


Pete recommended that they start at page one and highlight what needs to be changed in the Town Plan. 


Kate asked to leave the questionnaire with her.  The Town Plan is on the Addison County Regional Planning web-site.  There is a link on our web-site to Addison County Regional Planning.


New Business:


Kate came to discuss a bill pending in the House, H323.  This bill, if passed would give the State jurisdiction over a 50’ buffer zone around any body of water.  The perception would be that it will have a tremendous impact on property values.  There would be a huge amount of grieving of the listing.  It would even include things like building a deck, porch, maybe cutting down trees.


Motion by Pete that the PC’s position is that they do not agree with Bill H323.  Second by Jeff.  All in favor.  So approved.


Public Comment:




Other Business:


Next meeting February 10, 2010.


Motion to adjourn by Pete.  Second by Jeff.  All in favor.  So approved. 


Adjourned at 7:25 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,

Sandra L. Trombley

Planning Commission Secretary